DSC_0042.JPG

As you know, the theme this summer is all about low effort for maximum gain. In that vain, I’d like to acknowledge the coreopsis (aka tickseed) that illuminate the front of my house (and the banner on this site). I planted some seeds a few years ago, and ever since then I have enjoyed a riot of gorgeous yellow flowers every summer. They self-sow, and appear in the spring and continue through the summer. I’ve never watered them, and other than some deadheading when I have the time and energy, these cheerful flowers require virtually nothing of me.

DSC_0001.JPG

Thanks to my mom, who took these lovely photos when she was visiting in May.

DSC_0032.JPG

According to Kansas Wildflowers and Grasses, “Native Americans made a hot beverage from plains coreopsis, and early settlers placed plants in their mattresses because they believed they repelled fleas and bedbugs.”

Technorati Tags: ,