black hungarian peppers

I think I’ve already mentioned that I’ve planted a fairly big crop of black hungarian peppers from seed. We had one plant last year and made a jar of paprika with it. We like a little kick in our cooking, so it was a nice supplement to the more common sweet paprika. This year I went hog-wild and planted a dozen or so seedlings, which are doing quite well (but falling on top of each other, as I ran out of stakes and cages).

trio of colors

The black hungarian peppers start off green, then turn black and stay that way for a very long time, before suddenly becoming a beautiful brilliant red. I was able to catch all three stages in the picture above.

hungarian peppers

I also have one plant of the sweet paprika (Alma Paprika, from the seedsavers exchange).

alma paprika

As well as assorted bell peppers…

green bell peppers

bell pepper

orange bell

Technorati Tags: ,

