winter lettuce

Ok, I’m not talking extraterrestrials or anything. A couple of years ago I asked Chris to make me some covers so that I could continue to grow lettuce through the winter. He eagerly took on the challenge, and quickly created these. Somehow we started calling them “the spaceships”, and the name stuck. But now that I actually think about it, they don’t really look like spaceships, do they?

At the time, I wanted something I could move around the garden easily, whenever I wanted. These fit the bill perfectly, as they are light and easy to take on and off. Also, because you don’t want all your lettuce maturing at the same time, the size was just perfect for one batch. The plexiglass is curved to maximize the light coming in (although two sides had to be wood, for stability). I wish I had my act together this winter, and had taken a picture of the lettuce with snow on top. We’ve never had any damage from freezes when using these, and have been able to grow lettuce outside all winter long.

winter lettuce

Technorati Tags:

