P1040936.JPG

Finally harvested the garlic a couple of weeks ago. I had planted bulbs from a sampler pack (I chose the “rare and heirloom 8-pack) that I got from The Garlic Store. I was quite late in harvesting, as I didn’t realize that you were supposed to harvest before the plant was completely dead. Oh well! The picture above is of shatili garlic. We have done taste comparisons of shatili, chinese pink, french germinador, and shantung purple. To be honest, I really can’t tell a difference between them (at least eating it raw, by dipping bread in olive oil with minced garlic). Perhaps I don’t have a refined palate to appreciate the differences. In any case, it is nice to eat my own fresh garlic instead of garlic shipped all the way from China.

P1040574.JPG

Technorati Tags:

