P1090557.JPG

Growing broccoli has given me some of my most challenging pest problems. If you are interested in a recap and pictures of some of the pests, here is a link to my summary from the 2007 season.

P1080523.JPG

This year I decided to give row covers a try, since broccoli is a big hit with the girls. I planted a whole bed (about 10 x 4) with just broccoli, and covered it with a row cover (one of those white gauzy ones that lets in the rain). I pretty much forgot about them after that, until it came time to harvest. The broccoli thrived, and I have been cutting off huge heads ever since.

Here is a picture early on:
P1080522.JPG

And one from today:
P1090541.JPG

I have had such a huge influx of broccoli that I’ve had to figure out what to do with it all. I am probably the last person on the planet to realize that roasted broccoli is amazing. If you haven’t tried roasting broccoli, here is a link to the recipe I made last night:

Roasted Broccoli Recipe

Be forewarned, it is positively addicting. No kidding. I made the recipe last night (8 cups of broccoli), and there are no leftovers!

Technorati Tags: , ,

