two hives

I’ve wanted to keep bees for years, and was planning on doing it the year I became pregnant with twins. Needless to say, the bees got put on hold for a while. This spring the girls turned three, and I signed up for a beekeeping class at the local nature center. I have fallen deeply and madly in love with bees. They are fascinating creatures, and I have enjoyed reading about them as much as I’ve enjoyed watching them build their colonies.

The top picture is a recent one of the two colonies I have in my backyard. The picture below is just a shot of the bees hanging around the entrance. You can see one bee coming in for a landing with her legs full of pollen (she looks like she has yellow rain boots on).

pollen deliveryday one: installing the bees

This last picture is from the very first day, and shows the installation of what is called a “package” of bees (around 10,000 bees that come in a small box). I’m dumping them into their new home. Behind me are the frames that I removed in order to have some room to dump the bees into the hive box. The bees build their comb on these frames, and each small cell will be used to either breed a new bee or store nectar or pollen. The bees were surprisingly gentle, and would tickle me when they landed on my skin.

